About shastri hockey


Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri

Former Prime Minister of India


Sports are the foundation of camaraderie, the very basis of friendship and brotherhood. True sportsmen do not recognize differences in caste, colour or religion. They thrive only on fairplay. There is perhaps no better way to cherish and perpetuate the memory of a beloved leader than instituting a sports tournament in his or her name. With this background, the annual Lal Bahadur Shastri Hockey Tournament, instituted in the memory of the Late Prime Minister, was held for the first time in February 1991.

Year after year since its inception, the tournament has grown in every respect including participation and viewership. In 1994, for the 4th tournament for the first time a team from Kazakhstan participated. The purpose of going international was to give an exposure to our Hockey Players to play with various international teams. In 1996, during the 6th tournament, a team from Russia also joined the game. In the 8th Tournament in December 1997, Pakistan National Team also joined the game.

Four Nation Women Hockey Tournament was conducted in the year 2007 where Malaysia, Italy, Azerbaijan and India participated. Again in 2011, Under-21 Four Nation Women Hockey Tournament was conducted where Australia, Germany, New Zealand and India participated.